Junior Academy

Due to the amazing funding support of Pub Charity we were able to set up a Junior Academy in the Eastern Region in 2014.

This is a vital step in the organisation’s quest to become more competitive on a National basis and has definitely reaped benefits, with Winona-Jo Joyce taking out the Under 17 Girls singles National title this year.

As a part of the funding process, parents of those juniors chosen to be a part of the academy are required to pay a 50% share of the coaching costs.

Each player must make a commitment to their respective coaches as per their agreement and are monitored on a regular basis.  Coaches have the right to cut a player from their squad if they feel that they are not meeting the standards required.
The following are the members of the 2019 Academy; the squads will be updated as the season progresses.
Squads as at 20 March 2019

Apart from the individual coaching, holiday and weekend clinics are being held throughout the year and juniors are expected to enter regular tournament during both locally and outside the District.

The following information will be updated as more 2019 results are received.

The Juniors’ results will be updated as received and can be found on this link:
Academy Junior Tournament Results – 22nd July

Check out their points progress since 13th February 2019.  Congratulations to our top three achievers – Hunter Every (405 points), Harry Unwin (240 points) and Alex Elliott (220 points)
Juniors Progress

2019 Elite Squad


Kahn Grayson, Quade Hyde, Blake Knox, Isaac Pilcher, Ryan Miller


Rhiarne Taiapa, Winona-Jo Joyce, Jena Gregory,  Zara Evans, Jasmine Roydhouse-Ross

2019 Emerging Squad


Sam Fletcher, Josh Cornforth, Toby Evans, Guy van Raders, Jack Cornforth, Geordie Calder, Jonty Unwin


Amy Miller, Danielle Pilcher,  Paige Bentley, Amber Roydhouse-Ross, Ruby Hinton, Kiera Thompson, Tayla-Louise Lys

2019 Junior Development Squad


Hunter Every, Eliarn Destounis, Luke Low, Harry Unwin, Jake Hinton, Alex Elliott, Shaeahrn Ferguson


Belle Kinnear, Sammy Mattsen, Lucy Kinnear, Francesca Pilcher, Tayla Hook, Zara Hinton, Sophia Unwin, Violet Unwin